With term 1 over, I have realised that I have developed some invaluable skills and definitely look at inspiration in a different way!

I am really excited about the pattern cutting course that I am currently enrolled on. This week I was asked to prepare a presentation on a designer from the 1930’s – of course I was completely baffled about this particular era and had to jump on the research double smart!

It really challenged me though, and I have been able to able to see where Hollywood glamour really stemmed from. The alluring looks that J.Lo, Angelina and Halle Berry have been able to pull off are not so original and the like of Greta Garbo got there first and smashed it!! Dramatic draping is an art that I am only beginning to understand, I can’t wait to work on the stand.

I love Vionnet’s work as she was a fan of draping on the stand and created garments that fit the natural curve of the body and hung amazingly!

Today, I salute Vionnet – thank you for making women truly glamorous!!!

Here are pics of the old and the new, which do you prefer?

Ps and some extra pics of Zoe Saldana in vionnet 2010 fall (amazing!) She does need a couple of pounds on her though!

